U2 Lately

u2 meerkat

It can’t be U2 burnout because I haven’t seen them since their Experience and Innocence Tour in 2018.

That was June of 2018.

Then covid hit in 2020.

There was no way I was going to attend a concert in 2020/2021/2022 or even get on a plane.

It’s ok because U2 had no tours scheduled.

But in November of 2022 Bono released his memoir:  Surrender.  40 Songs.  One Story.

I rushed right out to get it.  Worried that it would arrive damaged from Amazon I went to Barnes & Noble to buy it.

Paid full price.  What a dummy, since obviously I don’t care if it got damaged or even read it……….haven’t read it two months later.

Now the book is half off!   LOL!

Right around that time a Bono book tour was announced.  I didn’t even bother to try to get tickets for the Boston show at the Orpheum.

It was November 4, 2022.  Stories of Surrender. An Evening of words, music and mischief.

As it turned out I was sick that day/night anyway.

The pre-sales and regular on sales were chaos of course.

The reviews were all excellent.

So I started to have a tiny bit of FOMO (fear of missing out).

In January of 2023 ELEVEN more dates of Bono’s book tour were added to The Beacon Theater in NYC.  These dates are for April and May of 2023.

I started looking at ticket prices, train prices, hotel and dining costs in NYC.

One night with Bono would cost almost $1,500.  That’s on the low end.

Now that I’m over 55 is the aggravation and cost of travel to see him really worth it to me?  No.

Later in January of 2023 U2 announced “Songs of Surrender”.

Not sure how I missed that this was in fact NOT new music, but instead 40 songs re-imagined.

What??????????????????

I mean some fans will be all over this and collectors too.

Prices for the 4 cd or 4 lp set are $45 or $125.  LOL !!!

After seeing Bono’s book go to half price I will be waiting for a markdown, if I even decide to purchase.

For the past year rumors have been swirling about U2 performing in residency at some Sphere in Las Vegas sometime in 2023.

The MSG Sphere is still under construction.

I have never been to Las Vegas and only time will tell if I will travel there to see my favorite band.

Especially with rumors that Larry has back issues he needs to take care of. They wouldn’t dare tour without him would they?!

That would be be the wrong decision!

This entry was posted in U2 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment