Where Have You Been For Thirty Four Years?!

My Dad died in 1983.

I was a young teenager at the time and my brothers even younger.

My Dad’s sister didn’t make it in time to see him before he passed away.  This was before cell phones and she was on her way from California.

I never saw her (my aunt) after my Dad’s funeral.  She went back to California and was never heard from again.

At the time I wasn’t sure what I had done wrong.

As I got older I realized I did nothing wrong.

Fast forward to Spring 2017.

My aunt called one day and asked if she could stop by the house.  My Mom laughed and said “sure” since she assumed the aunt was in California.

Wrong.

She was in Massachusetts.

So after 34 years she calls randomly for a visit????????????!!!!

What???!!!

I was at work luckily.

My Mom loves everyone and is a very forgiving person.  Obviously.

She just wants to be loved by everyone.  Maybe because she is the youngest?

They talk now on the phone at least once a week.

I am not like my Mom.

If someone abandons me for 34 years of my life they do not automatically get a pass.

I do not need or want their love.

I’ve done without it for 34 years.

So, why now?

I don’t need to see her or hear from her at this point in my life.

My Mom says I should let it go and move on because it’s my Dad’s sister and he would be disappointed in how I am acting.  (That’s some serious Catholic guilt right there!!)

I think he would’ve been disappointed in his sister for her actions over the past 34 years.

She’s coming back to the East coast for another visit later this year.

I have ZERO interest in seeing her then or ever.

Why waste my time now just so she can clear her conscience and pretend that she cares.

You missed out.

It is too late now.

Stay on your coast.

Don’t bother me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Have You Been For Thirty Four Years?!

  1. jaelach says:

    Catholic guilt – LOL. Kind of the same thing for me, I have aunts, uncles, and cousins on my dad’s side that I’ve never met. But no one’s looking to catch up with me either! 😉

Leave a Reply

