Printed Photos

If you are old like me you might remember cameras that had film.

That’s right.  Film in a camera that actually had to be developed!

Imagine that.

Here’s what I used to do after I finished a roll of film.  I would take it to be developed.  I couldn’t wait and usually it would be same day!!!  Then I would go through the photos and put the best ones in a photo album!

When I went on vacations sometimes I couldn’t wait to get home to develop the pictures!  I remember having film developed in Ireland in 2001 and Hawaii in 2006!

Vacation photos ALWAYS, ALWAYS went into photo albums within a week of being home.

What changed?

At first it was scrapbooking.  I no longer put photos into albums, I waited until I scrapbooked them!  That was a mistake.  I should’ve continued to put my photos in albums.  BUT at least I still developed my film photos.

I didn’t get my first digital camera until 2006.

What happens with digital cameras?  I took so many photos!  It was easy to do that and tell myself I would delete the ones I didn’t want.  Wrong.

At least I continued to print photos of vacations.

But what happened to other photos through the year?  They didn’t get printed.

They were stored in Kodak Photo Gallery.

NOW THIS IS A SIGN THAT PEOPLE AREN’T PRINTING PHOTOS.  KODAK PHOTO GALLERY ACTUALLY WENT OUT OF BUSINESS A FEW YEARS AGO.

I moved my photos to Shutterfly.  That’s where they are stored today.

Well of course they are on Facebook and Instagram too.

What else changed photos?  iPhones.  So many photos on my iPhone never get printed.  They are shared on Instagram and Facebook and stored on Shutterfly.

I need to get better at printing photos and storing them in actual photo albums.

I recently read a news article that said in ten years many people won’t have actual photos!!!  At first I thought…….no way.  But if you stop and think about it, yes it makes sense.

I do miss my film camera some days!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

