Wrong Place, Wrong Time?

THIS story has had me thinking about timing.

On the first Sunday morning in April, a local couple were out driving when without warning a tree fell on their car and killed them both.

What are the odds of that happening?

It is a horrible and sad story.  : (

Part of me thinks that at least they died together and aren’t suffering from horrible injuries..

The other part of me thinks, what if they were driving a little bit faster or a little bit slower?  The tree would’ve missed them.

What if one of them went back into the house to use the bathroom or forgot their phone?  The tree would’ve missed them again.

If it’s our time to die does it matter if we are running late or not?  Would that couple have passed away anyway that day?

I think about this when a light turns yellow.  Do I stop or speed through?  Do I rush to get into the elevator at work or take the next one?

I think this has always been in the back of my mind.  Ten years ago I was flying from Oahu to Maui.  I was at the airport an hour early and there was an earlier flight offered to me.  I opted to take my scheduled flight, rather than the earlier one.  No reason, other than it was the one I had booked, and I felt safer that way.

RIP to the couple that lost their lives so horribly.  You’ve been on my mind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wrong Place, Wrong Time?

  1. jaelach says:

    I think about this stuff too! I’m always thinking about moving to Florida, and in my mind I’ll think, but what if I move there and I (or my husband) gets into an accident there and ends up dying. That wouldn’t have happened if we didn’t move! And a similar event happened here – a couple were driving on a road near where I used to live. We had a freak late spring snow storm and they got into an accident and both died. (There is still a cross on the road as a marker.) The next day was beautiful warm weather and the snow was gone. I’ve actually seen their headstones and they have a picture of the two of them etched into it. Very sad.

Leave a Reply

