Digital Detox

digital detox

I’m not sure exactly what I think I’ll miss by not checking certain blogs daily, scrolling through instagram before sleep and checking out/commenting and ‘liking’ on facebook more than twice a day.

I enjoy seeing what people are up to on Facebook!  Oh and I LOVE Instagram!!  It’s so addictive!

Both are huge time wasters though!

I don’t take my phone(ok, except to take a few pictures) or laptop outside with me.  I don’t have the phone at the kitchen table.  Have never done either of these things.

I have had my phone with me while watching television.  I’m trying not to do that anymore.

In fact when I am home, the phone is being left in the top drawer of my nightstand.

But, when I go to bed, I need to move it or else I’ll be scrolling before sleep.

This weekend I experimented with a digital detox and it went pretty well!  At 1:00am on Friday night/Saturday morning 8/23 until about 11am on Sunday 8/24 I went without looking at my iphone or computer!

Yes, I do realize that it was only 34 hours.  LOL!

But, it’s a start.

I hope to try a longer one some time too!

digital detox:  A period of time during which a person refrains from using electronic devices such as smartphones or computers, regarded as an opportunity to reduce stress or focus on social interaction in the physical world:
break free of your devices and go on a digital detox

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

